KiwiSaver Providers and Early Withdrawal for Weight-Loss Surgery (2026)
Hülya Alkan · Dec 8, 2025 · Updated Oct 6, 2026
Every KiwiSaver provider works under the same scheme rules, but each one has its own form, contact route and process. This guide lists all 32 KiwiSaver schemes on the Inland Revenue provider list, how to apply to each one for weight-loss surgery, and the official timeframe wherever a provider publishes one.
We do not rank providers. Your provider's supervisor (trustee) decides each application case by case, and no provider publishes approval rates or timeframes specific to weight-loss surgery.
Updated October 2026. Aurora KiwiSaver is now Hive KiwiSaver (renamed 24 July 2026).
The short version
- Apply under significant financial hardship - the cost of medical treatment, not serious illness.
- Under hardship you can only withdraw your own and your employer's contributions (and their returns). Government contributions and the $1,000 kick-start stay in your account.
- Every hardship application needs a statutory declaration of your assets and liabilities, signed in person in front of a Justice of the Peace, lawyer or other authorised person.
- Most providers pay into your own New Zealand bank account. Summer, SuperLife and JMI Wealth say they can pay a third party.
- Most applications are approved; patients who are declined usually succeed after re-applying with the missing documents.
Check your KiwiSaver readiness (2 minutes) →
Pick your provider and get its form, document list and timing in one checklist.
Which ground should you apply under?
The KiwiSaver scheme rules list "the cost of medical treatment for an illness or injury" as a form of significant financial hardship.
The industry's own guidelines (Financial Services Council, 2023) say bariatric surgery should ordinarily be dealt with under hardship, not serious illness. The financial ombudsman (FSCL) has upheld serious-illness declines for weight-loss surgery and pointed members to hardship instead.
The trustee must be reasonably satisfied that other reasonable sources of funding have been explored and exhausted. It can also limit the withdrawal to the amount it considers necessary.
KiwiSaver providers: how to apply and official timeframes
Checked 6-7 October 2026 against each provider's own website and forms. The provider name links to its hardship page.
"Not published" means we could not find an official timeframe - it does not mean the provider is slow. Timeframes start once the provider has a complete application. On a phone, swipe the table sideways.
| Provider | How to apply (hardship) | Official timeframe | Pays a third party (e.g. hospital)? |
|---|---|---|---|
| ANZ incl. OneAnswer | Form (PDF) - email, post or branch | Aims to pay within 20 business days of a complete application | No - your own account |
| ASB | Call 0800 272 738, then send the form by email or post | Answer within 15 business days; paid 2-3 working days after approval | No - your own account |
| BNZ | Call, or message via Internet Banking / app | Not published | Not stated |
| Westpac | Form (PDF) - post or branch. Gastric surgery: call 0508 972 254 first | Assessment starts within 15 business days of complete documents; paid within 5 business days of approval | No - your own account |
| AMP | Online (MyAMP); call 0800 267 5494 if you cannot | Up to 15 business days after all documents are received | Not stated |
| Fisher Funds formerly Kiwi Wealth, Fisher TWO, Aon | Online or form (PDF) | Not published | Not stated - money must be used for the invoices |
| SBS Wealth formerly Lifestages | Form (link) - post or courier | Outcome within 15 business days | Not stated |
| Booster formerly Grosvenor | Online (Public Trust application tool) | Not published | Not stated |
| Simplicity | Online referral to Debtfix | Not published (Debtfix contacts you within 1-2 working days) | Not stated |
| SuperLife | Call 0800 27 87 37 | Not published | May pay your creditors directly |
| QuayStreet | Form (PDF) | Outcome within 15 business days | No - your own account |
| JMI Wealth | Form (PDF) | Not published | May pay your creditors directly |
| Craigs | Form (PDF) | Not published | No - your own account |
| Milford | Online referral to Debtfix | Not published | No - your own account |
| Generate | Contact Generate (0800 855 322) | Generate check up to 15 business days, supervisor decision 5, payment up to 5 | No - your own account |
| Mercer | Online eligibility check, then form (PDF) | Outcome within 15 business days | Not stated |
| Kernel | Contact support (email / chat) | Not published | Not stated |
| Kōura | Contact Kōura for the form | Not published | Not stated |
| InvestNow | Contact InvestNow (0800 499 466) | Not published | Not stated |
| Sharesies | In-app message / help centre | Not published | Not stated |
| Pathfinder | Contact Pathfinder | Not published | Not stated |
| Pie formerly Juno | Form (PDF) - email | Up to 15 working days to review; paid within 10 working days of approval | No - your own account |
| Summer formerly Forsyth Barr | Form (PDF) - email or post | Not published | Yes - to an NZ bank account, against an invoice |
| Hive formerly Aurora (renamed 24 Jul 2026) | Contact Hive (0800 242 023) | Not published | Not stated |
| AE (Always-Ethical) formerly Amanah | Form (PDF) - email | Not published | No - your own account |
| GoalsGetter formerly Nikko AM | Form (PDF) | Up to 5 business days for a complete application | No - your own account |
| Christian KiwiSaver | Form (PDF) (restricted scheme) | Not published | Not stated |
| SuperEasy | Forms page (restricted scheme) | Not published | Not stated |
| KiwiWRAP | Form (PDF) | Not published (full withdrawals paid within 20 business days) | Not stated |
| Evidential | Forms page | Not published | Not stated |
| MAS | Form (PDF) | Outcome generally within 15 business days | No - your own account |
| NZ Funds | Form via Debtfix (PDF) | Decision within 5 business days of a full application (Debtfix) | No - your own account |
"No - your own account" means the provider's page or form says it pays only the member. "Not stated" means we found no statement either way - ask your provider.
What all providers ask for
Each provider sets its own list, but the forms usually ask for:
- The provider's own KiwiSaver hardship withdrawal form (not your bank's loan-hardship form)
- A statutory declaration of your assets and liabilities, witnessed in person
- Certified photo ID and proof of address - the same address on every document
- Bank statements for all your accounts (usually the last 3 months) and evidence of income and expenses
- Evidence that other funding is not available (for example a declined loan application)
- A GP letter, plus specialist letters if you have them
- A written quote or invoice for the treatment, in your full legal name
Need help with the medical part? See the KiwiSaver GP letter template and the KiwiSaver documents checklist.
Provider-specific notes
From the providers' own pages and forms
- Westpac: asks members applying for gastric surgery to call 0508 972 254 before applying.
- Hive (formerly Aurora): renamed on 24 July 2026. Hive's serious-illness form points gastric-surgery funding to the hardship route. If you still have Aurora paperwork, contact Hive.
- Simplicity, Milford and NZ Funds: hardship applications go through Debtfix, which prepares the application for the supervisor. For NZ Funds, Debtfix says the decision comes within 5 business days of a full application.
- Summer: can pay the approved amount to a third party's New Zealand bank account against their invoice. Most overseas hospitals do not have an NZ account, so ask first.
- SuperLife and JMI Wealth: say an approved amount may be paid directly to your creditors.
- Fisher Funds (formerly Kiwi Wealth, Fisher TWO, Aon): the money must be used for the invoices you applied with, and evidence may be asked for on future claims.
- ASB: call 0800 272 738 before you send the form. BNZ: has no public hardship form - call or message through Internet Banking. AMP: apply online through MyAMP.
- ANZ: its form has no rule about where treatment happens, but some applications for surgery overseas have been declined (in 2025 one supervisor said it would only consider surgery in New Zealand) while others were approved. This is not a published rule - call ANZ before you apply.
What patients have told us (not provider policy)
These are anonymised experiences from patients we have worked with. They are not official and may not happen to you.
- Most patients heard back in about 2-4 weeks; the range was about 10 days to 10 weeks. Missing documents were the main cause of delay.
- Some banks (BNZ, ANZ, ASB) asked for a quote from a New Zealand surgeon, with the surgeon's name and date.
- Booster once asked for a referral to the public health system.
How much should you apply for?
The real price of your treatment or package, as written in your quote. Include travel (flights) only if you want to - ask your coordinator to itemise it separately.
Never inflate the amount. Your trustee may contact the company named on your quote/invoice to check the quote, the surgery date and the amount still owed.
What if you are declined?
Most applications are approved; patients who are declined usually succeed after re-applying with the missing documents.
Ask your provider for the reason in writing. The usual reasons are a missing document, an unclear GP letter or bank statements that do not show hardship. If money is tight, free financial mentors at MoneyTalks (0800 345 123) can help you look at options.
Before you apply
- A withdrawal reduces your retirement savings.
- If you receive a benefit, ask Work and Income whether a withdrawal - or time overseas - affects it.
- Tell your coordinator you are applying before you pay a deposit, so the refund terms are clear in writing.
Start the KiwiSaver readiness check →
Get a KiwiSaver-ready quote →
Written quote in your full legal name, in NZD, with what is included - free, no obligation.
More: KiwiSaver for weight-loss surgery - the full guide · KiwiSaver hardship withdrawal · KiwiSaver withdrawal step by step
Sources
- Inland Revenue: significant financial hardship
- Inland Revenue: serious illness
- Inland Revenue: KiwiSaver providers list
- KiwiSaver Act 2006, Schedule 1 (scheme rules, clauses 10-13)
- Financial Services Council: serious illness processing guidelines (2023)
- Financial Services Council: significant financial hardship processing guidelines (2022)
- FSCL case: KiwiSaver funds for weight loss surgery
- FSCL case: withdrawal to pay for bariatric surgery declined
- RNZ (March 2026): KiwiSaver withdrawal funded weight-loss surgery
- Westpac: accessing KiwiSaver early
- Summer: financial hardship withdrawals
- SuperLife: significant financial hardship
- JMI Wealth: hardship claim form (JKS32)
- Fisher Funds: hardship withdrawal form
- Good Returns: Aurora KiwiSaver becomes Hive
- Hive: serious illness withdrawal form (07/26)
- Each provider's own hardship page and form, linked in the table above.
&NewMe is not a financial adviser. Your KiwiSaver provider and its supervisor (trustee) decide every application. Provider information checked 6-7 October 2026; "what patients have told us" items are anonymised experiences, not provider policy.
Thinking about your own journey?
Every patient comes to Turkey for a different reason. Tell us yours - your coordinator replies on WhatsApp.


